français

 

 

Catalogue Raisonné, Critical Catalogue

What is a catalogue raisonné; what is a critical catalogue? Both are books that assemble, compile and classify the complete works of a painter or a sculptor. A process of inventory and documentation, a catalogue retraces the path followed by an artist's work, providing both an overview and a detailed description of it. Each individual painting or sculpture is described, analyzed and placed in the context of the artist's creative process. Each of the works is reproduced and accompanied by detailed notes: technical information, bibliographical and historical data along with commentary and sometimes with related iconographic documents. The establishment of a catalogue is a painstaking process, involving sifting through the data and cross-checking it, undertaking additional research in the field, verifying facts and seeking additional information often leading to sources apparently having little to do with art history (such as the records of the National Weather Service, Hospitals, or the Port Administration) so as to enhance both the scope and the quality of the research.

After this process of compilation and comparison come the decisions on how the work is to be organized, by chronology or by theme (or both), depending on whether or not the artist dated his work, and also bearing in mind the major subjects that inspired him.
Early publications of this type were called catalogues raisonnés: intended to be educational, they consisted of two distinct parts, a biography and the catalogue itself. Their modern counterpart is the critical catalogue, where the author or authors adopt a more personal, reflective approach, while still giving the same importance to rigor and method.

Establishing the catalogue of the complete work of an artist may require numerous years of research: 35 for that of Fragonard, 40 for Monet, 60 for Vuillard. Twenty or so of these reference works are in preparation at present at the Wildenstein Institute, which assumes responsibility on both scholarly and financial levels. Research does not stop after publication; new sources of information are assembled as they are discovered, with an eye to revised, corrected and expanded re-editions.

Printed in runs of 2,000, the catalogues published by the Wildenstein Institute—in partnership with the Bibliothèque des Arts, Taschen, and Skira—cover a wide panorama of art through the ages, ranging from medieval illumination to contemporary painters, by way of French sculpture.

During the process of elaboration of a critical catalogue, consultative committees play an essential role in deciding whether or not a work should be included. Our committees are formed of art historians, and/or the descendents or legal beneficiaries of the painter concerned, and of the author(s) of the catalogue. They meet periodically to discuss the works that have been submitted for examination. After examination, and based on the opinion of the members of the committee, a recommendation is made in the form of the intention to include or not to include the work under study; a third possibility also exists, that of continuing the examination of the work. Under no circumstance is a recommendation to be considered as a certificate of authenticity or appraisal, and no justification will be provided for said recommendation.

To be considered for examination by a committee, a written request must be submitted. This request will be used by SARL Wildenstein Institute Publications to set up a file for the work in question and establish the way in which the procedure will be invoiced.
The works remain the responsibility of their owners during the periods of transport and of consignment; they must be presented directly to the committee's meeting place or delivered by an authorized shipping agent within the deadlines stipulated. Under no circumstances will a work sent by post be accepted.
Whatever the committee's recommendation, the work will be returned upon presentation of the consignment receipt.
We guarantee the confidentiality of all of our procedures.

english

 

 

Catalogue raisonné, catalogue critique

Qu’est-ce qu’un catalogue raisonné ou un catalogue critique ? Il s’agit d’un ouvrage qui rassemble, recense et classe l’œuvre complet d’un peintre ou d’un sculpteur. Travail d’inventaire et de documentation, le catalogue retrace le parcours de l’œuvre, dans son ensemble et en détail. Chaque peinture, ou sculpture, est en effet décrite en elle-même, analysée et replacée dans le processus créateur de l’artiste. Toutes les œuvres sont reproduites, à chacune est associée une notice détaillée : fiche technique, données bibliographiques et historiques, accompagnées d’un commentaire, parfois de documents iconographiques en rapport. Un travail minutieux de dépouillements, de recoupements, d’enquêtes « sur le terrain », de vérifications des données, de recherche de l’information, jusque dans des lieux en apparence les plus éloignés de l’histoire de l’art (Météorologie nationale, Hôpitaux, Administration portuaire), permet d’approfondir et d’enrichir la recherche.

À ce travail de compilation et de confrontation succède l’élaboration d’un plan qui sera soit chronologique soit thématique (soit les deux) selon que l’artiste datait ou non son œuvre, selon également les sujets dominants de sa création.

Deux parties distinctes — biographie et catalogue proprement dit — caractérisaient les premiers catalogues raisonnés, à visée didactique. Dans les catalogues critiques, plus récents, le ou les auteurs ont adopté une démarche privilégiant l’approche et la réflexion personnelles avec le même souci constant de rigueur et de méthode.

L’établissement du catalogue de l’œuvre complet d’un artiste peut réclamer de nombreuses années de recherche : trente-cinq pour celui de Fragonard, quarante pour Monet, soixante pour Vuillard. Une vingtaine de ces ouvrages de référence sont actuellement en préparation au Wildenstein Institute qui assume la réalisation sur le plan scientifique et matériel. Après la publication, les recherches ne sont pas abandonnées ; les informations nouvelles sont rassemblées en vue de rééditions revues, corrigées, augmentées.
 Les catalogues, tirés à deux mille exemplaires, édités par le Wildenstein Institute — en partenariat avec la Bibliothèque des Arts, Taschen, Skira — couvrent un large panorama de l’art, depuis l’enluminure médiévale jusqu’aux peintres contemporains en passant par la sculpture française.

Au cours de l’élaboration d’un catalogue critique, les comités consultatifs ont un rôle essentiel dans l’inclusion, ou non, d’une œuvre. Un comité est une association constituée d’historiens de l’art, et/ou de descendants et d’ayants droits du peintre concerné, du ou des auteurs du catalogue ; il se réunit de façon périodique afin de délibérer sur les œuvres présentées. Après examen, et selon l’opinion des membres du comité, des avis sont émis : il s’agit d’intentions d’inclusion ou de non-inclusion ; une troisième possibilité est le maintien à l’étude. En aucun cas, ces avis ne peuvent ni ne doivent être considérés comme des certificats d’authenticité ou des certificats d’expertise ; ils ne sont jamais motivés.
Les œuvres soumises à l’examen d’un comité doivent faire l’objet d’une demande écrite (soit par courrier soit via le formulaire) entraînant l’ouverture d’un dossier par la SARL Wildenstein Institute Publications qui adressera les modalités de la facturation.
Les œuvres restent sous la responsabilité des propriétaires pendant les périodes de transport et de dépôt ; elles doivent être directement apportées au lieu de réunion du comité, dans les délais impartis, ou déposées par un transporteur agréé. En aucun cas, une œuvre ne peut être adressée par courrier.
Quel que soit l’avis émis par un comité, l’œuvre est restituée sur présentation du bordereau de dépôt. Nous garantissons la confidentialité de toutes les démarches.